VA - Reggae's Gone Country 2011


VA - Reggae's Gone Country 2011

Image hosted by

Country music devotee Cristy Barber, Vice President of Marketing and Promotions at VP Records, the world's largest reggae label, and a Grammy nominated producer for the 2003 dancehall reggae-hip hop compilation album Def Jamaica, envisioned this project two years before release and teamed up on lead production with John Rich of the multi-platinum selling country duo Big & Rich and the winner of this year's Celebrity Apprentice, and the acclaimed Jamaican saxophonist and top reggae producer Dean Fraser.

Reggae's Gone Country takes some of Jamaican's favorite classic American country songs and puts their beats and whole instrumentation around it while still having that root of country. "It is this crazy cool idea," says John Rich. The majority of the album was recorded at Kingston's Grafton and the Marley owned Tuff Gong Studios. The tracks were mixed by Errol and Shane Brown, then sent to Nashville where they were embellished with country instrumentation by legendary pedal steel player Mike Johnson and Jonathan Yudkin on fiddle/ banjo with John Rich overseeing the production at Fireside Studios, formerly owned by the late country legend Porter Wagoner.

01. Romain Virgo & Larry Gatlin - California
02. Luciano - He'h Have to Go
03. Richie Stephens - Wolverton Mountain
04. Etana - Crazy
05. Tarrus Riley - The Chair
06. Beres Hammond - He Stopped Loving Her Today
07. Duane Stephenson - Suspicions
08. Tessanne Chin - Don't it Make My Brown Eyes Blue
09. Gramps Morgan - Feels So Right
10. Freddie Mcgregor - The King of the Road
11. Sanchez - El Paso
12. L.U.S.T. - Flowers on the Wall
13. Busy Signal - The Gambler

Bitrate:mp3, 320 kbps Size: 95 MB


Tags : music country
Category : General Country | Write a comment | Print


| Contact author |